Speaking of Nakedness

10 Nov

 

God's sweet covering clothes us

 

“‘Later I passed by, and when I looked at you and saw that you were old enough for love, I spread the corner of my garment over you and covered your nakedness. I gave you my solemn oath and entered into a covenant with you, declares the Sovereign LORD, and you became mine. Ezekiel 16:8

We are that naked woman.  God came incarnated in the form of Jesus Christ, and covered us.  The word nakedness can refer to physical nakedness or our shame and our uncleanness.  He has covered us with his love, his forgiveness, his holiness, his mercy.

I delight greatly in the LORD;
my soul rejoices in my God.
For he has clothed me with garments of salvation
and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness,
as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest,
and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.  Isaiah 61:10

We’ve been clothed, but I am not saying that nakedness is evil.  As a matter of fact, I taught in the ladies’ meeting last month, that husbands want to see their wives . . . and enjoy them, and we should not allow our insecurities to prevent that.  Read Song of Solomon if you are not sure about that!  But in the meantime we can luxuriate in the coverings that God provides for us:  a covering that is likened to a bridal gown.

Leave a Reply

