I Wonder…

23 Oct

Search expectantly

Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted in me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.  Psalm 42:5

Do you ever wonder why you’re down in the dumps?  It happened to me last week, and I just couldn’t put a finger on it.  The Hebrew word for cast down means to be bowed down, to crouch, to stoop.  I find than when it happens to me spiritually, it also happens physically.  I have to remind myself to stand up straight.

The word disquieted means full of noise–anything from a murmur to a total commotion and a clamorous roar.  The literal meaning is tumulated, (Is that not the most wonderful word?) and is related to the tumult and tossing of the sea.  I can identify with this as the tinnitus that I have is a continual soundtrack in my brain that sometimes controls my state of being much more than I would like it to.  A commotion in our spirit is even more controlling.  It keeps us from having the sweet, peaceful spirit.

Hoping in the Lord is the antidote to this unrest of the soul.  Biblical hope is waiting for someone or something with a sense of expectancy.  Note how the psalmist speaks to his soul.  We can chide ourselves out of the dumps too.  And with the help of God’s countenance (a.k.a. enjoying God’s presence and favor) our soul will fill with praise again.

Leave a Reply

