Fear Stagnation

15 Oct

stag·nate

 1. to cease to run or flow, as water, air, etc.

2. to be or become stale or foul from standing, as a pool of water.

3. to stop developing, growing, progressing, or advancing.

4. to be or become sluggish and dull.  (Dictionary.com)

The other day I was having my morning time with the Lord and I smelled something terrible.  I sniffed around a bit and finally determined that it was from the vase of flowers on the table.  The flowers were beautiful, but the water was foul and stagnant.  I fear that I occasionally am that vase of flowers:  from the outside I look fine, but on the inside I am stagnating. 

Jesus gives us living water; water that bubbles up from the spring of life.  But springs can become blocked and become stagnant, and we need to clean them out to allow the fresh clean water to flow again.  If you are stagnating, what junk is blocking the healthy flow of living water?  For me it can be worry, lack of conversation with God, lack of mercy toward others, or focus on the temporal things of life.  For instance, lately I’ve become so aggravated with some problems at my school that I am allowing those issues to crowd out truly important things from my life. 

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”  John 4:13-14

Leave a Reply

