Do Not Fear, Even in Seemingly Hopeless Situations Part 1

11 Oct

Ps 118:10-13  10 All the nations surrounded me, but in the name of the LORD I cut them off.  11 They surrounded me on every side, but in the name of the LORD I cut them off.  12 They swarmed around me like bees, but they died out as quickly as burning thorns; in the name of the LORD I cut them off.  13 I was pushed back and about to fall, but the LORD helped me. 

These four verses speak about the reality and seriousness of the situation the psalmist faced.  The psalmist was surrounded on all sides by unbelieving nations, or goyim.  The word surrounded can also mean enticed.  We can be enticed by the enemy or our own fleshly desires.  Sometimes the situations that are all around us are enticing us to fear.  The situations lend themselves to thinking about the what ifs, maybes, mights, and coulds.  Perhaps we can begin to be proactive and remind ourselves of these truths before the fear sets in:  God is not far away.  He is here.  Now.  He is sovereign over my situation.

Leave a Reply

