Killer Kudzu Part 2

14 Sep
Killer Kudzu

Killer kudzu doesn't look like a serial killer, does it?

When my anxious thoughts multiply within me,
Your consolations delight my soul.  Psalm 94:19

Notice that David writes, when my anxious thoughts multiply within me, not if my anxious thoughts multiply within me.  Multiply, or the Hebrew rób, means abound.  The thoughts are distracted and perplexed thoughts, disquieting thoughts that make it difficult for us to be still and know that He is God.  This reminds me again of the kudzu we spoke of the other day:  anxious thoughts that just take over our brain like kudzu strangles buildings and trees.

Consolations means comfort, commiseration, God’s help for His faithful followers.  The same Hebrew word is used in Isaiah 66:13:

“As one whom his mother comforts, so I will comfort you”

Comfort means to take delight in and to caress.  God takes delight in us and caresses us as a mother does with her baby.  These comforts cause us to respond in kind, delighting ourselves in the Lord and responding to His caresses.  God comforts.  God delights.  And our delight is doubled.

One Response to “Killer Kudzu Part 2”

  1. 365daysofpeace September 14, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    I love this. I grew up in the South and am well familiar with kudzu. I never ever saw it as a metaphor for worry … thanks for making that link for me!

Leave a Reply

