Paralyzed Prayers

30 Aug

I received a super-lousy report this week about someone I love very much.  Heart stopping news that threw hope of a new beginning out the window.  I had the oddest reaction to the news.  My prayer life is paralyzed.  All I can do is kind of aim my thoughts toward God, but I can’t seem to form words.  The most I’ve been able to blurt out is, “What can I say that I haven’t said a gazillion times before, Lord?”

I thought to look in Richard Foster’s book, Prayer, and this is what I found:

In the Prayer of the Heart we have come to the end of our tether.  We are trying to use words, but words fail us.  We struggle to express our heart and are painfully aware of how far the expression is from the reality.  It is here that the Holy Spirit steps in with “sighs too deep for words.”  We receive from the Spirit the spirit of adoption, through which we cry, “Abba!  Father!” (Romans 8:17-26)  In the Prayer of the Heart we experience “friendship held in reverence,” to use the phrase of George Buttrick.”

I think that is what I’m experiencing.  Friendship held in reverence.  I’m certainly not mad at God.  I know my paralysis is related to the many fears I have for this loved one.  Perhaps just turning my heart toward Him without words is a form of prayer.  What do you think?  How have you gotten over prayer paralysis in the past?

3 Responses to “Paralyzed Prayers”

  1. 365daysofpeace September 1, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    A wise pastor once pointed me to the story of the paralytic and his friends in Mark 2. The man was paralyzed, and unable to make it to Jesus on his own. Four friends intervened and overcame all obstacles to get the man to Jesus.

    In cases where we cannot pray on our own, the pastor said, we must allow others to intervene for us. Know that you and your family are lifted up today.

    God’s blessings.

    • susanjean September 1, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

      I am humbled. Thank you for your words. And your prayers.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Do we see giants? « Fearless - September 1, 2010

    […] ago, God gave me a promise about the very same person I wrote about the other day.  He promised me that this person would serve the Lord wholeheartedly.  Over the […]

Leave a Reply

