Self-sufficient?

14 Aug

Jesus is my rock; I depend on Him

I have a library of books about fear; well, maybe a well-stocked shelf in my bookcase.  Some are secular and some are Christian.  The other day I was reading Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway by Susan Jeffers, Ph.D..  She divides fears into three levels.  Level 1 fears are fears of things that happen or require action like dying or public speaking.  Level 2 fears have to do with inner states of being like fear of rejection.  Level 3 fear is:  I can’t handle it!

At the bottom of every one of your fears is simply the fear that you can’t handle whatever life may bring you.  –Susan Jeffers Ph.D.

Ms. Jeffers solution is for us to develop a trust in ourselves until we reach the point where we can say, “Whatever happens to me, given any situation, I can handle it!”

Ooh, I beg to differ.  If I have to depend on myself and my resources I’m still going to be shaking in the corner of my closet.  No.  We need to develop a trust in God until we reach the point where we can say, “Whatever happens to me, given any situation, I can handle this through God!”

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Phil. 4:13 NKJ

I have strength for all things in Christ Who empowers me [I am ready for anything and equal to anything through Him Who infuses inner strength into me; I am self-sufficient in Christ’s sufficiency]. AMP

Leave a Reply

