Literacy I

29 Jul

I am pretty much a literacy fanatic.  I read every book on reading and writing that I can get my hands on (translate this to “afford”).  Good readers and writers and listeners and speakers don’t just fall off trees.  We need to learn all of these things.  (See my reading blog.)

To be literate Christians, we need to:

  • Think with God;
  • Listen to God;
  • Speak with God and about God;
  • Read His love letter to us–the Bible;
  • Write about God (journaling, Bible study, etc.); and
  • Know that we are a poem that God is writing.  For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.  Ephesians 2:10

One of the meanings for the word workmanship is poem.  We are the poem that God is writing.  We are a work of art.  Doesn’t that give you pause?  When poets write, each word is of consummate importance.  The poem needs rhythm, unity, theme.  All of this tells me that God is involved in the big picture and the smallest details of my life.  What kind of poem do you think you are??

(This post is based on a message I heard in Baltimore this summer and similar teachings of my own from the past.  If anyone knows the name of the woman who taught, please send me her name as I didn’t jot it down.)

Leave a Reply

