Elderberry vs. Queen Anne’s Lace

14 Jul

Will the real Queen Anne's Lace please stand up?

A friend of mine is learning how to identify and cook wild foods (a la Euell Gibbons)–an interest that I’ve had since 7th grade.

He was telling me about all the Queen Anne’s Lace he has in his yard and how he served some to a friend.  He went on to say that it looked different in Florida than in the guidebooks and brought some in to show me.  I realized that it was Elderberry, which thankfully is also edible unlike another almost look-alike, Poison Hemlock.

You have to be precise and detailed when you identify plants–especially if you plan to eat them.  🙂  We need to be equally precise and detailed with God’s Word.  We’ve been looking at Philippians 4: 6-9 over the last week or so.  Let’s take this week to precisely abide by it.

6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  Philippians 4:6

Do something concrete to help you remember to present all your anxieties to God:  tie a ribbon around your wrist, write a note on your hand, put a sticky note on your computer.  Then try to bring EVERY worry to Christ.  So far today I’ve:

  • Brought my worry about receiving an Internet order on time to Him.
  • Brought my worry about messing up Nate and Tessa’s wireless connection to Him.
  • Brought my worry about a relationship to Him (2 or 3 times).
  • Brought my worry about my schedule to Him.
  • Etc.

Let me know how you do.

Leave a Reply

