Security: A Father’s Day Post

19 Jun

Dad-like work boots.

I miss hanging on my daddy’s arm,  riding in the truck with him, working side-by-side with him,   watching TV with him, playing cribbage with him, and listening to him laugh. 

When we traveled, Dad stopped at least once an hour for pie and coffee.  I had no idea it was possible to get places quickly because with Dad the journey was half the fun.

Most of all I miss the little “adventures” we’d have.  He loved to turn off onto the “road less taken” and see where it went.  It usually ended with us getting stuck on a sandy road in the middle of nowhere, but no matter what, no matter when, no matter where, I always felt totally secure with him.  No worries.  No fears.  I knew my daddy would take care of everything. 

Sometimes I have to remind myself to have the same child-like trust in my heavenly Daddy that I did in my earthly Daddy.  But He is perfect in His love, His protection, and His provision.  We can be infinitely secure in the knowledge that He is with us and will never leave us or forsake us. 

Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”  Joshua 1:9b

Leave a Reply

