Are we Trying to Run the Parade?

1 Jun

The other morning I read this verse from the Message Bible which had me guffawing (which is the best word I can find for my obnoxiously loud laugh): 

Cuencano steed decked out for parade

What we’ve learned is this: God does not respond to what we do; we respond to what God does. We’ve finally figured it out. Our lives get in step with God and all others by letting him set the pace, not by proudly or anxiously trying to run the parade.  Romans 3:27b

I immediately flashed back to the parades of my youth in Half Day, Illinois.  My sister always rode her horse and I marched with the Brownies, Girl Scouts, or 4-H.  I thought about the way I try to control events of life through my worry, and realized that it’s as silly as me, the Brownie Scout, trying to run the Memorial Day parade!

2 Responses to “Are we Trying to Run the Parade?”

  1. Robin June 1, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    It’s funny how we think that whatever we do, God is just waiting to either reprimand us or reward us. Many times we feel that if we don’t do something then certain things happen because God is not pleased with us, which in reality causes paranoia and worry or if we do good, that He is pleased with us which causes a false security in ourselves.
    Either way we are still basing everything on what WE do and not what He did! If I myself could get it into my head that it’s not about ME!! It’s about Him and what He has done for me and how, like the verse said we just respond to what He has done! He has made the path for us…..I think I just need Him to knock me upside the head and tell me in a very loud voice what to do!!! 🙂

    • susanjean June 2, 2010 at 7:58 am #

      It’s the truth, isn’t us. I keep studying grace and get momentary revelations, but then fall into my natural thinking of reward and punishment. It’s also so easy to fall into a the-universe-revolves-around-me viewpoint. I’m so grateful that He knows us from the inside out, accepts us, and works in us–that the work is His and not ours!

Leave a Reply

