It’s OK to Stare in the Mirror!

17 May

I remember when I was little, my mom would often catch me looking into the mirror or window reflections.  I always was embarrassed when she caught me–but when it comes to the Word of God, it’s OK to stare in the mirror!  Take a look at this verse:

James 1:23-25 (NIV)

23Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror 24and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. 25But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does.

The other day I was teaching on this verse, and I turned away and surreptitiously made some marks on my face with my white-board marker.  When I turned back and continued teaching, all of the women were tactfully signaling me that I had a mark on my face.  It was sooo cute.

The point is that if we look into the mirror of God’s Word and realize that we have a dirty face and walk away without doing something about that dirt, we will not be blessed.  When we are convicted by the Word of God (when they Word speaks to our hearts and shows us we are doing something wrong), we need to respond to it.  Positively.

The other day I was convicted by my lack of faith that shows up in how worried I am about a family situation.  I turned to God and asked Him to help my unbelief.  And I keep turning to Him and asking, listening to good preaching, and reading the Bible to build my faith.  In this direction lies freedom; in the other direction lies denial and disobedience.

Leave a Reply

